Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Performance Evaluation of Material Flow and Production Systems

The design of material flow and production systems plays a decisive role for the achievable performance and thus also for their economic efficiency. This requires stable and robust production processes with efficient material and information flows. However, stochastic events, such as machine failures, complicate the quantitative analysis of the processes, which is necessary as a basis for decisions for an efficient design.

At the beginning of the planning phase for a new material flow or production system, there is a large number of potential system configurations that need to be analyzed with regard to various key performance indicators. The planner's task is to identify the alternative that best meets both quantitative and qualitative targets. The quantitative methods of the performance evaluation of material flow and production systems are classified in the literature based on the degree of detail and the required computing time into continuous time queueing theory, discrete time queueing theory and simulation.

We use both analytical and simulation-based stochastic models to evaluate the performance of material flow and production systems. A special focus is on the discrete time queueing theory. This has the advantage over the continuous time queueing theory that the existing data, for example processing times, can be used directly and do not have to be approximated by contin-uous distributions. In addition, the discrete time queueing theory is not limited to the calcula-tion of expected values when determining key performance indicators, such as the sojourn time of an order, instead the complete probability distributions can be determined. The fast and ac-curate numerical calculation of key performance indicators in material flow and production sys-tems with the help of discrete-time queueing theory closes the gap between (often inaccurate) purely analytical considerations and (always complex) simulation investigations. In the detailed planning of material flow and production systems, however, the simulation of the system is usually essential. We can draw on extensive experience in the field of material flow and production simulation, e.g. with the simulation software Anylogic or Plant Simulation.

Projects:

  • NivKom
  • DCRM
  • Productive 4.0
Current Research Projects
Title Contact

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Leistungsbewertung von Materialfluss- und Produktionssystemen

Die Gestaltung von Materialfluss- und Produktionssystemen spielt eine entscheidende Rolle für die erreichbare Leistungsfähigkeit und somit auch für deren Wirtschaftlichkeit. Hierfür sind stabile und robuste Produktionsprozesse mit effizienten Material- und Informationsflüssen notwendig. Jedoch erschweren stochastische Ereignisse, wie beispielsweise Maschinenausfälle, die quantitative Analyse der Prozesse, die als Entscheidungsgrundlage für eine effiziente Gestaltung erforderlich ist.

Zu Beginn der Planungsphase für ein neues Materialfluss- oder Produktionssystem existiert eine Vielzahl potentieller Systemkonfigurationen, die hinsichtlich verschiedener Leistungskennzahlen zu analysieren sind. Aufgabe der Planer ist die Identifizierung der Alternative, welche sowohl quantitative als auch qualitative Zielvorgaben bestmöglich erfüllt. Die quantitativen Methoden der Leistungsbewertung von Materialfluss- und Produktionssystemen werden in der Literatur basierend auf dem Detaillierungsgrad und der erforderlichen Rechenzeit in zeitkontinuierliche Bedientheorie, zeitdiskrete Bedientheorie und Simulation klassifiziert.

Wir setzen zur Leistungsbewertung von Materialfluss- und Produktionssystemen sowohl analytische als auch simulationsbasierte stochastische Modelle ein. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt dabei auf der zeitdiskreten Bedientheorie. Diese hat gegenüber der zeitkontinuierlichen Bedientheorie den Vorteil, dass die vorhandenen Daten, beispielsweise Bearbeitungszeiten, direkt verwendet werden können und nicht aufwendig durch kontinuierliche Verteilungen approximiert werden müssen. Außerdem ist die zeitdiskrete Bedientheorie bei der Bestimmung von Leistungskennzahlen, wie der Durchlaufzeit eines Auftrages, nicht auf die Berechnung von Erwartungswerten beschränkt, sondern es können die vollständigen Wahrscheinlichkeitsverteilungen bestimmt werden. Die schnelle und genaue numerische Berechnung von Leistungskennzahlen in Materialfluss- und Produktionssystemen mithilfe der zeitdiskreten Bedientheorie schließt damit die Lücke zwischen (oft ungenauen) rein analytischen Betrachtungen und (stets aufwändigen) Simulationsuntersuchungen.

In der Feinplanung von Materialfluss- und Produktionssystemen ist die Simulation des Systems allerdings meist unabdingbar. Wir können hierbei auf umfangreiche Erfahrungen im Bereich der Materialfluss- und Produktionssimulation, u.a mit der Simulationssofware Anylogic oder Plant Simulation, zurückgreifen.

Projektliste
Titel Ansprechpartner